Today's Classical Music Video

Thursday, June 23, 2011

Tughan Sokhiev with the Berlin Philharmonic and Helene Grimaud

Tughan Sokhiev has a lot in common with Valery Gergiev. Both were raised in Ossetia in Russia and both studied with the legendary Ilya Musin. Sokhiev is a much younger man - he was born in 1977 - but he shows every indication that he is on his way to becoming a major conductor. He currently heads the Orchestre national du Capitole de Toulouse and beginning next year he will become principal conductor of the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, Kent Nagano's former orchestra. He has made several recordings with his French orchestra including a fine reading of Rachmaninov's Symphonic Dances (Naive V 5256).

In this recent video he leads the Berlin Philharmonic in part of the final movement from the Ravel Piano Concerto in G major with Helene Grimaud as soloist.

Paul E. Robinson



Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home